Maestri'Art

De Bethune

DW5 CempasĂșchil

As every year in Mexico on the Day of the Dead, the Cempasúchil blossom sings the joy of an enduring celebration. This timekeeper is the outcome of a three-way dialogue: A conversation that spans two eras, between two exceptional art engravers. The first is José Guadalupe Posada, the legendary Mexican engraver and chisel virtuoso who made the dead dance at the end of the 19th century. His work is interpreted with the contemporary talent of Swiss Art engraver Michèle Rothen, working in close concert with Denis Flageollet, master watchmaker and founder of De Bethune. The alliance of blued titanium and gold,  new technology for combining the two metals reaching beyond the challenge of a contemporary reinterpretation of the Mexican artist's engravings, Denis Flageollet and Michèle Rothen introduce the additional technical challenges of not only working with a titanium case, but also of having it flame-blued, hand-engraved, and decorated for the first time with delicate gold inserts, as well as engraved to magnify the Cempasúchil blossoms. And to take the level of difficulty a few notches higher still, several different types of 18K gold alloy are used. Engraving was particularly difficult on this piece because titanium already presents a challenge in itself. Combining it with gold was an insane challenge. Engraving them together added yet another degree of difficulty.

De Bethune

Maestri'Art DW5 Armilia

De Bethune delves into the fantastic universe of graphic novel artist François Schuiten – also known as the “Watchmaker of Dreams” – and engages in a dialogue with the enigmatic world of Les Cités Obscures (literally: The Obscure Cities) which in turn reverberates in the very structure of DW5 Armilia. Eschewing the dictates of scale and proportion, Denis Flageollet, Master Watchmaker and co-founder of De Bethune, passionate about The Obscure Cities, has imagined a wrist-sized sculpture, engraved as a direct reference to a drawing of the underground City of Armilia. With DW5 Armilia, De Bethune has created a fascinating work that stands as an immutable marker on the frontier between the world of art and that of watchmaking. The watch testifies to a vision of unbridled creativity, anchored in a profound understanding and respect for the great master watchmakers of the past whose work it transcends and magnifies.

De Bethune

Maestri'Art II

In China, symbols play a prominent role in art, culture and daily life. Whether ancient or more modern, Chinese koi symbols are found in the decoration of objects and furniture. In 2018, De Bethune created a timepiece paying tribute to the finesse and extreme delicacy of the Asian engravings generally adorning bronze vases. Faithful to the spirit of Chinese engravers and poets, the delicately engraved titanium dial is hand blued and embellished with gold particles depicting a ‘choreography’ performed by the carp and dragon. The effect is further enhanced by 12 diamonds serving as hours and minutes markers, while adding a unique and precious radiance.

De Bethune

Maestri'Art I

In 2018, De Bethune drew inspiration from Japanese Tsubas in creating an entirely engraved and resolutely contemporary timepiece paying tribute to the shared heritage of goldsmiths and watchmakers. Historically, Tsuba was a small circular piece placed on Japanese swords as a guard, serving to protect the samurai's hand when the opponent's blade slipped on his sword. Today, De Bethune reinterprets it with inlaid and engraved gold animal motifs that transcend matter by infusing it with strength and light, just like the dragon perched on the clouds and stretching over the entire piece, across the dial and caseband onto the back of the watch – defied by a tiger in its role as master of the bamboo forest, symbolising power, courage, bravery and ferocity.

book an appointment

Cookies

This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more

Maestri'Art

De Bethune

DW5 Cempasúchil

Comme chaque année au Mexique pour le Jour des morts, la fleur orangée Cempasúchil mythifie le culte dans l’allégresse ! Le garde-temps est le fruit d’un dialogue inédit à trois : Une conversation dans le temps, entre deux graveurs d’Art d’exception. Le premier José Guadalupe Posada, le graveur mexicain, le virtuose du burin qui faisait danser les morts à la fin du 19ème siècle. Une œuvre interprétée par le talent contemporain de la graveuse d’Art suisse Michèle Rothen, qui travaille avec complicité aux côtés de Denis Flageollet, fondateur et maître horloger De Bethune. L’alliance du titane bleui et de l’or, une nouvelle technologie pour marier les deux métaux dépassant le défi de la réinterprétation contemporaine des gravures de l’artiste mexicain, Denis Flageollet et Michèle Rothen y ajoutent les défis techniques supplémentaires non seulement d’un boitier en titane, mais aussi coloré au feu, gravé à la main, et orné pour la première fois de délicates insertions d’or, elles aussi gravées, pour magnifier les fleurs de Cempasúchil. Et pour surpasser encore la difficulté, il s’agit de plusieurs types d’alliage différents d’or 18K. Le travail de gravure fût particulièrement difficile sur cette pièce car la gravure sur le titane est déjà une difficulté en soi. Le marier avec de l’or fût un défi fou. Les graver ensemble, un défi inédit supplémentaire.

 

De Bethune

Maestri'Art DW5 Armilia

De Bethune plonge dans l’univers fantastique du dessinateur et scénographe François Schuiten, surnommé l’horloger du rêve, et ouvre le dialogue avec le monde énigmatique des Cités Obscures en un rayonnement sur la structure de sa DW5. S’affranchissant des échelles et des proportions, Denis Flageollet, co-fondateur et Maitre Horloger De Bethune et passionné par les Cités Obscures, imagine une sculpture à la taille d’un poignet, gravée comme une référence directe à un dessin de la Cité souterraine d’Armilia. Avec Armilia, De Bethune crée une œuvre fascinante qu’elle installe comme un repère à la frontière entre le monde de l’art et celui de l’horlogerie. La montre témoigne d’une vision d’une créativité débridée tout en étant fondée sur la compréhension et le respect des grands Maîtres horlogers du passé qu’elle transcende et sublime.

De Bethune

Maestri'Art II

En Chine, les symboles occupent une place prépondérante dans l'art, la culture et la vie quotidienne. Qu'ils soient anciens ou plus modernes, on retrouve des symboles de koi chinois dans la décoration des objets et des meubles. En 2018, De Bethune crée un garde-temps rendant hommage à la finesse et l’extrême délicatesse des gravures asiatiques décorant le plus souvent les vases en bronze. Fidèle à l’esprit des graveurs et poètes chinois, le cadran en titane délicatement gravé, est bleui à la main et est ici agrémenté de particules d’or qui représentent tel un ballet, la carpe et le dragon. L’ensemble est réhaussé de 12 diamants pour les indexes des heures et des minutes, offrant un éclat unique et précieux.

De Bethune

Maestri'Art I

En 2018, De Bethune s’inspire des Tsubas japonais pour créer une pièce résolument contemporaine entièrement gravée rendant hommage au patrimoine commun des orfèvres avec les horlogers. A l’époque, le Tsuba est une petite pièce circulaire posée sur les sabres japonais comme une garde, pour protéger la main du samouraï lorsque la lame de l’adversaire glissait sur son sabre. Aujourd’hui, De Bethune le réinterpréte avec des motifs d’animaux en or incrustés et gravés qui transcendent la matière en lui donnant force et lumière, à l’image du dragon lové dans les nuages qui s'étend sur toute la pièce, sur le cadran, la carrure jusqu’au dos de la montre, défié par un tigre tel le maître de la forêt de bambous, symbole de puissance, de courage, de bravoure et de férocité. 

prendre rendez-vous

Cookies

Ce site web utilise des cookies. En continuant à naviguer sur le site, vous acceptez notre utilisation des cookies. En savoir plus